Why does the VM only retains the Workspace directory?

As specifed in the hints, why does the VM only retains the workspace directory when restarted? What is the logic behind this?

This was answered in the last CrioByte session. As far as I can remember, everytime you start your virtual machine, it freshly allocates the resources to you and that’s what causes the wipe outside the workspace directory.